Move-in Day in Gimhae: March 12, 2009 – Thursday

My new apartment on “move in day!”
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
The space is probably a bit bigger that it actually looks in the pictures because the bed is kind of a wired size. It looks like a twin but its really closer to a full.. but not quite. The floors are lacquered paper as is standard throughout Korean homes and restaurants to make them water proof, clean, and to transfer heat from the floor warmers. The door to the bathroom is just out of frame to the left of the kitchen. The kitchen has a good size fridge, and washing (not drying) machine behind where I am standing to take the picture of the sink. It seems that all sinks here have this bendy hose style thing that makes washing dishes really easy. No dishwasher, no over, Koreans don’t really bake. I wish there was a bit more counter space for chopping veggies but…. since the apartments free Ill make do!

Photobucket
Photobucket

So the way the Korean showers work, and this is not just my apartment but almost all korean showers, is that there is no “shower area.” Instead there is just a hand held shower hose near the sink. The whole bathroom drops down about 9 inches when you step into it and there is a drain in the center of the room. Thats it! I think its great, no glass to clean or floors to dry after a shower! I added a second shower head holder up and in the center of the room so its just like an american style shower except that you do it in the middle of the bathroom. Saves a lot of space too. The second shower head holders attaches by suction cup and set me back about $4.

This is Kid’s College where I work.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

This last one is MY room with MY desk just out of frame on the left! This is before we were open so as you can imagine the walls are covered with pictures of animals, numbers, colors, and days of the week now! I have been busy with the decorating and laminating machines!
Photobucket

This is my director Mr.Lee and the principle of the school (his wife) Suzy. They met me with Richard, my supervisor, at the airport and I was treated to Soju, Kim-chi and these BBQ pork ribs about 20 minutes later. This restaurant is about a block from my apartment and 3 blocks from school. Yummy!
Photobucket

This is a picture of the building I live in. Its actually 4-5 stories tall but they are in the back.
To the left is a similair building and to the right is an ugly oil change place for cars. It can be a little loud during the day but usually I am not there anyways so…
Photobucket

Can anyone tell me how to use this washing machine? LOL Its actually pretty easy since I never wash whites separately or care if its on perm press or standard.
Photobucket

However, this little contraction has been the bane of my existence and otherwise extremely simple apartment.
Photobucket

Apparently this is the thermostat but it also controls the hot water in the apartment. The knob makes no sense and the temperature of the water and floor heater are in metric! Its not that I cant get hot water or heat when I want but there are sooooooo many options, in Korean, that I have no idea how much or little electricity I am or am not wasting! Trial and error I guess. Probably mostly error!

Views from outside my window. I live on the outskirts of a lot of new construction so there are huge blocks of tall tall buildings with completely empty lots mixed in that are used as temporary parking lots. Most buildings have a lot of parking above or below in garages.
Photobucket
Photobucket

Here is a “Korean drying machine!”
Photobucket
Photobucket

Its a clothing drying rack that hangs from the sealing as is lowered or raised with a drawstring a lot like you would have on your blinds. It is located right next to the very large sliding window so this thing actually works really well and must be saving millions of people a lot of electricity! I love simple solutions. Plus its kinda fun looking at peoples windows when the sun is out and seeing what color underwear they like!

This is my kindergarden class during gym class. The gym, a huge padded room full of foam toys, balls, and this playhouse thing, is located on the second floor of the building with the rest of the school on the third.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Not sure whats up with this map of the world on a cow? Is there a connection that I am unaware of? This is near the bathrooms at the college.
Photobucket

Here is my supervisor, Richard, taking a break from all his “hard work.”
Photobucket

Thats all for now kids, I gotta jet and get some kim-chi in me! Today was a rough day with Eilene, on of the temp teachers, she had a little break down and I had to step in and teach a couple of her classes for her. Bye! More to come….

-Eddie

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

