Places I have been the last two weeks! March 16, 2009 – Monday

The yellow sign on the second floor is for Kid’s College. This is just a few blocks from my place.
Photobucket
This is also near Kid’s College, there is a lot of new construction so this is an empty lot with a Korean “love motel” behind it dressed in pink. The call them love motels but I dont know how much of that really goes on here. I have not seen any obvious prostitutes around but there are flyers and advertisements for massages all over the place.
Photobucket
Shinhae, near my place.
Photobucket
The walk to the express bus station that takes me to Busan. The main walkways like this are not concrete but that rubberized stuff they use on playgrounds. Much easier to walk long distances on, for your feet and back.
Photobucket
This little Turtle/Man is the Gimhae mascot so to speak. He is in commercials and public service announcements to not litter or jay-walk and such.
Photobucket
The bus drivers here really go all out with their decorations. Are those fresh flowers?
Photobucket
These little coffee machines are amazing and all over the freaking place. A cup of esspresso with milk and sugar is 300 wan ($0.25) and is a great pick me up, piping hot too. I didnt know coffee machines could make such yummy treats!

Not too sure about the juice machine next to it… Does that say “Sweat?” Lots of stuff gets translated pretty badly here so its always fun to read the signs!
Photobucket
Approaching Busan by bus. In the US the sports cars and SUV’s own the roads. Not so in Korea. Here the mighty EXPRESS BUS reigns supreme. He is the king of the road, the master of his domain, and all over the freaking road! The bus drivers steering wheel, and that of most taxis I have been in, seriously have a worn out spot on them from where the honk the horn! Really easy to tell if they are left or right handed! Of course, honking over here is a lot more friendly. Its seems as though if a Korean were really mad they would shot or make dirty gestures. The horn is used as a sort of “hay, buddy im here!”
Photobucket

My first day in Korea I went for a walk at about 6am because I was jet lagged. I kept getting honked at the whole time. I knew I was fresh meat so I assumed I was doing something wrong, breaking important cultural taboo that I was unaware of. Was I walking on the wrong side of the sidewalk? Was I wearing the wrong colors for a Sunday morning? I had no idea. After about the 10th horn honked at me I finally figured out the Taxis just honk at you if they are looking for a fare! Sometimes I couldnt get a cab if my life depended on in in San Francisco but here they are all over the place and THEY come to YOU! Wonderful.

Narrow street in Sasang, Busan.
Photobucket

I kept seeing these all over the place and was wondering why so many Koreans are racists until I saw a bunch of monks walk into one of these buildings! The reverse natzi symbol is actually a symbol for a large denomination of Buddhism here.
Photobucket

Busy intersection in Sasang, Busan.
Photobucket
Ditto
Photobucket
Traffic Jam in Seyeom, Busan. This is one of the chic-er shopping areas.
Photobucket
Ditto, except with someone’s thumb covering the top left portion of the frame 😦
Photobucket
This is about halfway up a random building that I was in for some reason. I still dont read Korean too well so sometimes I end up places unintentionally. This was a nice view though!
Photobucket
Maggots coffee?
Photobucket
Near my house.
Photobucket
Busy intersection near my house.
Photobucket
Shinhae, downtown Gimhae.
Photobucket
Yummy Squid stew! Thats the temporary teacher Eilene next to me.
Photobucket

Weird, traditional Korean restaurant near the college.
Photobucket
I could not figure out these car parks for the longest time either. They seem to be on all hotels, seedy or fancy. Why the colored cords? Seems like a car accident waiting to happen. One guy going in another coming out, WAM! Then I found out that adultery is illegal and punishable by 3-5 years in prison! I guess thats why they hide the cars!
Photobucket

Near my house.
Photobucket
I met these fine Westerners (none were American) last friday night. Some of them even live in my part of town!
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Thats all for now, as always…. more to come!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

