Trip to Haeundai Beach and touring Shinhae! March 20, 2009 – Friday

I know this is not the topic of the post but I went to a new eatery yesterday and was served these little silk worm larvas as a side dish!
Photobucket
They taste a lot better than they look. I am told that they are not marinated in anything really, but they were kinda spicy! Yummy! Sorry the picture is fuzzy, my camera was running low on juice, but you get the idea.

Even though Korea has a really high population density there are lots of public places such as this that are not crammed full of people when you just want to rest or get away. Also, all the major cities border large “mountains,” hills by our standards but they dont build cities in these areas. Mountain biking a hiking are major attractions here!
Photobucket
Quasi Roman art.
Photobucket
Gimhae History Museum.
Photobucket
Shinhae, 20 min walk away.
Photobucket
I have no idea… Maybe old or new, hard to tell sometimes in Korea.
Photobucket
Strip leading to Haeundai Beach, Busan. Really good, but expensive, bicycle shops around here.
Photobucket
Haeundai Beach, most famous beach in all of Korea I am told. Who is that weird white guy in the frame?
Photobucket
Photobucket

While we were walking around (me and Dave) we noticed a little old Korean man following us really closely. After a few turns with him still in hot pursuit I turned around and asked him directly if we could help him. He said, in broken English, that he was trying to listen to our conversation because he is learning English! We invited him to walk with us and he became very excited and jovial! Korean men show their approval of new friends by hitting them. Seriously, this little old guy had some strong slaps that he let lose on my back! After a few blocks he started trying to hold my hand, another male sign of affection, so I continued to walk with him for a while but with my arms crossed across my chest! He seemed to take then hint, and we parted ways a bit later. Interesting experience though.

Another angle. These little ferries take you all over the place. The Korean peninsula has something like 500 islands around it. Most of which are vacation hot spots because of their excellent weather.
Photobucket
Weird architecture.
Photobucket
Photobucket
This is a themed love motel in Busan near the beach. A pink castle?
Photobucket
On the 7th floor, in the mens room, of a 13 story shopping mall. Man I am such a tourist.
Photobucket
Check out the 4 story shopping mall on the left with a 10-15 story apartment complex on TOP of it!
Photobucket
This is at night in Shinhae. I really miss late night Mexican food in San Diego. It was always cheap, really really huge, and amazingly tasty. However, these little food booths on the side of the street are starting to win me over. This one sells dumplings but they can sell just about anything. Most of the time they are little fried treats or seat food on a stick! Its all really greasy and amazing after a long night of…. just about anything.
Photobucket
I had no idea what the prices were but there was a sign that read 1,500 Wan so I figured that for 3,000 I could get two of them, once of each kind of chicken dumpling. However, when I pointed at the two different pans of dumplings the lady must have misunderstood me because she started packing away two full trays for me, thats 8 per tray! They steam them right there while you wait, hence the steam…. Anyways, instead of trying to stop here and looking like an idiot I figured that I would just pay for them all, as if I knew what the hell I was doing in the first place! However, as it turned out the 16 dumplings I had accidentally ordered cost me only 3,000 Wan, 1,500 per tray! I love Korea. Biggest, best meal I have ever eaten for $2 in my whole life 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

